My Story (Part 2)

The following will tell you about things I have encountered, so far, as a young adult and how I plan on tackling my twenties.

I graduated High School in 2012 and honestly, I was really proud of myself. The only thing I ever really was interested in school was my vocal classes. Singing was my everything! Singing got me through everything! I didn’t graduate with honors or anything special but I got my diploma. My parents then wanted me to attend community college… (I didn’t want to but they wanted me to do more with my life). There I took a medical coding class and I kind of enjoyed it… I guess.255497_2988461844645_544108351_n

 

In 2013 my Lola and Aunt took me back to the Philippines. This is one trip that had a ripple effect on my life and forever changed me. The scenery was beautiful, the people were wonderful, and the trip was memorable. The biggest thing I got out of the trip was how privileged I really was. I thought I had rough life but that wasn’t the case. The people in the Philippines are amazing men and women. The elders work so hard to send their children to school so that they can grow up with knowledge and leave their country to come to America, Canada, or even Dubai. They send their children to different countries to work and send money back to help their families. That is pure selflessness. It is beautiful. How close my family is in the Philippines blows my mind. I have never seen anything like it and I can’t wait to go back. Quiet honestly I didn’t want to come home. A lot of people go into culture shock when they go to rural countries but I felt at home.Philippines 2013 (1)

 

Coming back to California I mentally made a decision to go to school. Seeing where my dad came from and truly seeing how hard he worked to get us to where we are pushed me to make this decision. In 2014 I started school to study medical billing and coding in depth. This was the first time that I put my full efforts into school. In 2015 I graduated with an Associates of Science in Administrative Health Care Management with a 3.65 GPA. That number is stuck in my head because I know how hard I worked to get that. That year I proved to myself that I can achieve anything I want in life if I put in the effort and dedication.GRADUATION 2015

Right out of school I got my first official job in the medical field. I moved in with my boyfriend and his family and I was ready to take on the world. We lived with his family for about 13 months and then Ramon and I got our first place together. This was a huge step in our relationship and in our lives in general. Neither of us have ever been on our own without help from our families so taking this leap was important for us. Looking back, we had no idea what we were getting ourselves into but if we didn’t do this my life definitely would not be what it is today.

11150199_10203109962704018_3313929547463213596_n

The past year was one of thee hardest years I have ever had but also one of the most blessed years I have had! Everything, honestly, was going good until June 19, 2016. This was a Fathers Day Sunday and we were coming home from the desert. That evening we got into a car accident and it totaled my car. It shook me up and I still have anxiety to this day because of it. The following weekend we were out doing errands in Chino Hills and Ramon and I were starting to plan our 2018 wedding in 2016 lol. There I met one of my best friends Ro. I was perusing through wedding planners and she just started talking to me about my future wedding and such. Ro gave me an opportunity  that I will never take for granted and it’s a start to my future. I am so blessed to have a friend (more like family) like her who understands and listens to me when I just need to vent.

Leatherstuddedheroine

Fast forward, in less than 6 months Ramon got in another car accident. A guy was hauling butt in a residential area and Ramon was driving a stick and was barely switching to second, so he was cruising, and the guy had a stop sign and didn’t even stop. By the grace of God Ramon was absolutely okay. Having to deal with the financial loss for both accidents in a 6 month time frame was so hard but we were grateful enough to have a supportive family and group of friends who helped us look past the loss and focus on being positive and our future.  Without them we probably would have handled things a lot differently.

From all of this we both realized what we needed to do to get ahead so our current goals are:

  1. Create an emergency fund: Why? Because we were not prepared. We are putting money away just in case something happens again.
  2. Long-Term Savings: We want to be able to buy a house in the near future, have a family, and we don’t want to work forever so this is just logical for our goals
  3. Life Insurance: This is something Ramon and I both have. I bet you are all wondering… “Why have life insurance, you are so young?!” The reason is because as we were taught this past year, we are never guaranteed a tomorrow. Not only that if something were to happen to either of us we made sure that the survivor wouldn’t have to go into debt to bury either one of us. I see so many people do a “GoFundMe” or have a car wash but is that really what you want to do when a loved one passes? Wouldn’t you rather focus on the life they lived and the healing process? That is just my opinion though.
  4. College: We want to make sure our kids have the opportunity to start their lives debt free while getting a college education… if they wish that is. Ramon and I both pay for our own college. We were not lucky enough to have our parents pay for that. It isn’t an easy life paying student loans and I don’t want my children worrying about that.

These are our goals and we plan on sticking to it. We don’t have everything planned out but I do know that we are on the right path. Thank you guys for “listening” and I hope that it has brought some type of knowledge your way.

Adios for now,

herewithriss

Leave a Reply

